Skip to main content
Due to Governor Northam's current order for Virginia to be in Stage 3 of COVID-19 recovery, City of Franklin city hall is now open to the public with social distancing and masks required. Please reserve the hours between 8:30am to 9:30am for those citizens over the age of 65 and those with compromised immune systems.

Environmental Services Division



The Environmental Services Division of the Community Development Department is responsible for administering the local Erosion and Sediment Control (ESC) and Stormwater Management (SWM) programs, for both the City of Franklin and Southampton County under the consolidated services agreement between both localities in July 2013, to ensure compliance with state and federal regulations and local ordinances.

The City of Franklin Erosion and Sediment Control Ordinance

Southampton County Erosion and Sediment Control Ordinance

The City of Franklin Stormwater Ordinance

Southampton County Stormwater Ordinance

VSMP Permit Regulations


Division Responsibilities:

1. Administer the Erosion and Sediment Control and Stormwater Management Programs  

2. Manage the Site Plan Review process

3. Issue both local E&S Control and DEQ VSMP Construction General Permit        Permits

4. Inspect construction activities and manage annual BMP Inspection Services

5. Review and release surety bonds for land disturbance activities

6. Review and approve As-Built drawings for inclusion into the City of Franklin /Southampton County GIS System

7. Review and approve BMP maintenance agreements where applicable


Pre-Design Conferences

The Environmental Services Staff will hold a pre-design conference with the property owner or design consultant to ensure the future design complies with all federal and state regulations and local ordinance requirements. Further discussions will outline the required site plan checklist, engineering calculations/supporting documents, building plans, and permit applications and fees required for a successful and timely site plan approval.

Plan Submitter's Checklist

Land Disturbance Permit Process

Standard Erosion and Sediment Control Notes


Local and State Permits: 

If the commercial site is within The City of Franklin and the disturbed area exceeds 5,000 square feet, then a land disturbance permit is required. If the commercial site is within Southampton County and the disturbed area exceeds 10,000 square feet, then a land disturbance permit is required.

2016 Schedule of City/County Permit Fees

City of Franklin/Southampton County Land Disturbance Application

Site Plan Review Application

Surety Bond

Cash Escrow Performance Bond


Small Residential Projects:

Residential projects with disturbed areas less than 5,000 square feet in The City of Franklin or 10,000 square feet in Southampton County are eligible for an Agreement In Lieu of Plan  


Large Commercial Projects

If the commercial site exceeds 1 acre, then a VSMP Construction General Permit is required from the Department of Environmental Quality. The City of Franklin and Southampton County administer the VSMP Program, therefore the Construction General Permit will also be issued by the City of Franklin on behalf of the Department of Environmental Quality.

VSMP Construction General Permit Registration Statement

VSMP Construction General Permit Notice of Termination

Franklin/ Southampton County SWPPP Template

Southampton County BMP Maintenance Agreement

City of Franklin BMP Maintenance Agreement

Site Construction Inspections:

After the site plan is approved the Environmental Services staff will conduct a Pre-Construction conference with the designated contractor to discuss any design concerns, construction signage, SWPPP Information Board/Inspections and/or changes to the Construction Sequencing.


Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (MS-4) Locality (Frequently Asked Question):

Neither The City of Franklin nor Southampton County are MS-4 localities as defined by the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality. Both Localities are located in the Chowan River Watershed which includes the Blackwater, Meherrin, and Nottoway Rivers and their tributaries. The other Hampton Roads Communities drain into the James River/Chesapeake Bay Watershed and are MS-4 permit holders.

Chowan River Basin

Albemarle-Pamlico National Estuary Partnership