Skip to main content

Franklin Department of Social Services Advisory Board


The Advisory Board acts in an advisory capacity to the City Manager and monitors the formulation and implementation of social services programs in the City of Franklin within the bounds provided by state and federal guidelines.

Frequency/ Times/ Place for Meetings 

The Advisory Board meets on the third Thursday of every other month at 3:30 p.m. in the months of February, April, June, August, October and December.  The December meeting is usually moved to the second Thursday due to the Holiday schedule.

The Board meets at Franklin City DSS, 306 North Main Street, Franklin, VA 23851 in the FDSS Conference Room.

Citizen Involvement

All meetings are open to the public.

Contact Information

For more information concerning the advisory board, please contact us at:

Franklin City Department of Social Services
Attn: Advisory Board
306 North Main Street
Franklin, VA 23851
(757) 562-8520

Current Advisory Board Members

Mrs. Patricia Ballard, Chair term ending Dec. 31, 2020
Mr. Earl Blythe  term ending Dec. 31, 2020
Mr. Welton Deshields, Jr term ending Dec. 31, 2019
Ms. Sandra Brothers term ending Dec. 31, 2019
Mr. Clyde Parker term ending Dec. 31. 2019
Mr. Gregory McLemore term ending
Mrs. Wynndolyne Copeland term ending