ZONING APPEALS BOARD

Members: Six (6) members are selected on a ward basis and one (1) at large. City Council

recommends appointment and Circuit Court of Southampton County makes the appointments. One (1) member may be a member of the Planning Commission.

Type: Statutory board created pursuant to Virginia Code Section 15.2-2308.

Meets: 1st Tuesday of the month, Council Chambers located at 207 West Second Avenue,

Franklin, Virginia at 5:30 PM, when issues warrant or require a meeting.

Term: Five (5) years, members may be reappointed to succeed themselves.

Duties: Hear and decided appeals to the zoning ordinance for administrative reviews, variances,

special exceptions and interpretations of the zoning ordinance.

Mr. John Marshall Ward 1 733 Chaucer Court Franklin, VA 23851 jhmnsm@gmail.com 757-562-6035 (h) 757-663-811

757-562-6035 (h) 757-663-8115 (c) November 1, 2021 – November 30, 2026

Vacant

Mr. Justin Campbell Ward 2 105 Sunset Drive Franklin, VA 23851

January 1, 2024-December 31, 2028

Mr. Larry Rose Ward 4 307 Pine Street Franklin, VA 23851

April 1, 2022 – December 31, 2025

Mr. Earnest Jones Ward 5 105 Holland Circle Franklin, VA 23851 757-708-2596

December 1, 2021 – December 31, 2026

Mr. Walter Hobbs Ward 6 709 Charles Street Franklin, VA. 23851 757-569-8015 (h) 757-805-6435 (c)

January 1, 2024-December 31, 2028

Mr. Doug Smith
Interim Director of Community Development
City Staff/Secretary
207 West Second Avenue
Franklin, VA 23851
dsmith1@franklinva.com
757-562-8501